In Which I Have a Little Bit of Success…

The Lygon Arms Bar & Grill, reviewed by yours truly

Just time to remind you, that if you still want to enter my flash fiction/random word competition, the closing date is tomorrow (12th September) at midnight, so get scribbling..! I’ve had 30 entries so far but I’m expecting a rush of last-minute entries!

Today I had a nice surprise. Writers Forum magazine popped through the letter box and I turned to the ‘flash competition’ which I’d entered, to see the results: and I was the winner! In case you didn’t see it last month, you had to write a restaurant review of no more than 400 words and the editor admitted that, instead of the 100 – 200 entries he usually receives for the flash competition, this time he only had.. wait for it, TEN entries!

I reckon quite a few people were put off by the requirements:

1. You had to go to a restaurant or café, in order to review it.
2. It had to be ‘newsworthy’ – ie: somewhere that had recently re-opened or refurbished. By chance, we were taking my parents out over the Bank Holiday weekend to a restaurant that had just had a 2-year, multi-million pound refurbishment, so that was perfect.
3. And finally, you also had to send the review to a local newspaper! (I sent mine to the Stratford Herald but they haven’t printed it – so far!).

So, there you go. A success. And the £100 I’ve won will go some way towards paying for the meal we had. It’s fun, writing restaurant reviews. I picked up some useful tips on writing mine from this site, if you’re interested.

Writers Forum runs a monthly ‘flash comp’ (so named because you only have a short time to get your entry in. The results are published in the next issue of the magazine). For this month (closing midday on 2nd October), the assignment is: “You wake up in a white room with no visible exit and no idea why you’re there. You have 500 words to escape and reveal what’s going on. Use first person (‘I’), present tense – and be inventive. No mundane twists!”

You could have a lot of fun with that, I think! If you want to enter, get hold of a copy of the magazine. It’s free to enter if you’re a subscriber, otherwise it’s £5.

Mind The Gap!

And finally, on a completely different note, my friends Wendy and Ken are setting off on a 9-month tour of the world (a ‘silver gap year’), THIS FRIDAY, starting in South Africa and including 3 months in a motorhome in Australia. Wow, what an adventure!

They’ve set up a blog and asked me for a few tips, one of which was, of course, tell everyone about your blog and another was, reply to all comments! So, if you want to see what they’re up to – or pass on any pearls of wisdom, if you’ve done anything similar – I’m sure they’d be delighted to hear from you.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Competitions, Magazines, Successes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In Which I Have a Little Bit of Success…

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    Congratulations on the win, Helen x

  2. Keith Havers says:

    Congratulations, Helen.

  3. juliathorley says:

    I won two competitions in a row with the same organisation and I’m convinced it’s because I’m the only person who entered. But hey: it all counts! Congratulations on your win.

    • Well done, Julia! That could be true, but who cares!? It sounds a bit pathetic, saying only 10 people actually entered but another way of looking at it is, only 10 of us had the imagination, resilience and determination to enter…! Sounds much better, doesn’t it?

  4. Mairibeth says:

    Well done! I didn’t have the imagination, resilience and determination to enter so well done, you! I have a friend who once entered a competition that had four entires and three prizes – she was the unlucky one, so remember a win is still a win!

Leave a Reply

