Inspired by Autumn

I am feeling rather pleased with some autumnal photos that I took on Saturday (bearing in mind I have a very basic little camera!), so here they are.

I was going to try to come up with a very creative writerly ‘acrostic’ using the letters of the word ‘autumn’ to go with them but …aah, sod it, I can’t do it (apart from ‘N’ for NaNoWriMo – time to start planning that if you’re thinking of doing it this year!).

Around here, in deepest Cotswold country, all the blasted pheasants have ‘sprung up’ (I suppose the word is actually ‘hatched’) ‘as one’ and are driving my dog Bonnie crazy, as she likes to sniff them out and chase them (don’t tell the gamekeeper).

On Saturday – just after these lovely shots were taken – she disappeared while ‘hunting’ (she doesn’t catch them, by the way – they fly off) and I couldn’t find her for a heart-stopping fifteen minutes.

She eventually returned, running, exhausted, up the field towards me, through a herd of very unconcerned cows and calves (eek, don’t tell the farmer, either) and it was all very stressful.

She’ll have to be on the lead for that part of the walk from now on!

Anyone know what this baby is?!

Hindsight is a wonderful thing and all that, but I doubt whether we’d have moved to this area if we’d known it was the middle of pheasant-shooting land. No, we don’t do it and we don’t like it but it’s big business for the landowners round here, who breed the pheasants especially for the ‘sport’. Boo, hiss and all that.

Writing Weekend

On a more cheery (and writing-related!) note, my OH has bought me a place on a novel writing weekend next month, for my birthday. It’s this one (the sold-out ‘Autumn Retreat’) to be exact, run by the lovely Alison May and Janet Gover. I’m really looking forward to it and I will be reporting back!

This entry was posted in Bonnie, Cotswolds, Novels. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Inspired by Autumn

  1. Beautiful Pics! Not sure what that thing is. But I’d sure like to know too.

  2. juliathorley says:

    These are lovely photos, proving you don’t need expensive kit to take a good picture. My photographer friend says you only need one good brain to take a photo and it doesn’t matter if it’s in the camera or the person holding it.

  3. Kate hogan says:

    Super photos, Helen, clarity is excellent. First one would make a nice cover, fluffed up around the edges, for one of your story collections! Good wishes Kate Hogan

    • Thanks Kate – and yes, I hadn’t thought of that but brilliant idea of yours – and would also save me splashing out and buying a cover, which is what I usually do!

      • juliathorley says:

        Was it you who posted ages ago about paying to have a cover design done for your self-published books? If so, can you link me to the post, please? If it wasn’t you, apols. Thanks.

      • Julia
        I used Fiverr.com for the last 2 covers I had done and I was pleased with them (and they weren’t too expensive). I’ll see if I can find the name of the person I used. By the way, I liked your (star!) letter in Writing Magazine – well done!

      • Ah, here it is – lady called Shar and her address on Fiverr.com is: https://www.fiverr.com/landofawes
        She charged $15 dollars for each of the 2 covers that I had done and she was quick! (It might be more though if you have a back and a front – I only had the front designed, as it was for an e-book).

      • Thanks for the hook-up – and yes, I’m star letter, which was a nice surprise when I opened the mag this morning.

  4. Wendy Clarke says:

    That first photograph is super amazing, Helen. Early autumn is a wonderful time for dog walking. Luckily, my Bonnie stays a little closer to me now she’s getting older and it’s much less stressful 😀

  5. Thanks Wendy. Yes, your Bonnie sounds much calmer than ours…! If she was a school child she’d have been ‘excluded’ by now! We are hoping to enrol her in a new agility class that we’ve found near us and that might get rid of some excess energy! (hers, not ours, obviously.. I don’t have any excess energy!)

  6. pennywrite says:

    The lovely photos of seeds are a great reminder that Autumn is really for beginnings…!

  7. Absolutely, Penny! I love ‘new starts’, don’t you? (I even like Mondays! How sad is that?!)

  8. Patsy says:

    Lovely photos.

    Enjoy the retreat.

Leave a Reply

