Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

Too early for the snowman header? Hmm.. maybe but it’s really gone cold here over the last few days (apparently we are heading for a ‘three week winter snap and polar winds’. Eek!). Autumn definitely feels like it’s over, so a wintery scene was required!

Today I had two little writing firsts: the Swedish women’s magazine Allas popped through my letter box, containing the first story I’ve ever had published by them, which is also the first of my stories ever to be translated into another language (not by me, I hasten to add! My Swedish vocab is strictly limited to Volvo, Ikea and the names of the members of Abba).

Anyway, my story ‘Marathon Man’, which was published a year ago in Take a Break magazine as ‘Long Distance Love’ is in Allas as ‘Maraton-Mannen’. You don’t have to be a linguistic genius to work out that the Swedes have kept my original title – yah!


They also kept the Swedish-i-fied names that I gave my characters. Originally, they were called ‘Kate’ and ‘Greg’ but when I sent the story to Sweden, I rechristened them ‘Karin’ and ‘Stefan’. I don’t think it’s strictly necessary to do that but I think it’s a nice touch (and it’s a good excuse to have fun – and waste time – googling Swedish names).

If you want to know how to submit to Allas magazine (and the good news is that they will take stories that have already been published elsewhere), then check out the guidelines on the womagwriter website – and good luck!

I went to Sweden once – for an evening! I was in Copenhagen, with work (those were the days when I jet-setted around a bit) and my boss discovered that you could take a boat (ferry? I honestly can’t remember) across to Sweden. So, we went over, had dinner and came back again. And we were able to say ‘we’ve been to Sweden!’

And talking of jetting off, I’m flying up to Scotland this weekend for a wedding in a CASTLE. How freezing is that going to be?! Because it’s not ‘lower Scotland’, it’s right up near Inverness. I am planning to invest in some thermals.

Wrap up warm, everyone!

Achnagairn Castle

This entry was posted in Magazines, Short Stories, Successes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

  1. Sherri Turner says:

    Congrats on the Allas publication! They do lovely illustrations too, don’t they?

  2. Carrie says:

    Well done! And I agree, they do fab illustrations. Recently had one published by them myself.

  3. edinburghs says:

    My sister lives in the same village as Achnagairn – we have walked her dog through the grounds. We’ve never seen inside though! Have a lovely time. Kate Blackadder

  4. Kate Hogan says:

    Well done on your Allas story, Helen. Lovely illustration. Good wishes Kate Hogan

  5. juliathorley says:

    Congratulations on your international sales. I’ve got a story pending publication with South African mag You, so I might send something to Allas too. Thanks for the tip. Stay warm!

  6. Congrats on the publication.

    We got engaged in Sweden, so naturally I’m very fond of the country.

Leave a Reply

