On Publication Day, What is ‘Saga Fiction’?

Wheee! It’s publication day for my third novel, ‘The Highland Girls on Guard’ which is the second in the series about the feisty gals of the Women’s Timber Corps.

The e-book and audio versions are available from today and the paperback is out on Thursday this week (only, currently, on-line, although you can of course order from your local bookshop/library. The paperback will be for sale in ‘The Works’ at some point. I’ll let you know when!).

What’s It About?

What else can I say about the book?

1. My agent Robbie Guillory came up with the title, which I love (great alliteration!). And as for who or what they’re guarding.. you’ll have to read the book to find out!

2. There are lots of horses in it! (Two of the main characters work on the dragging team, with horses, bringing the timber out of the forest). So if you like horses (like me!), it might be your thing, even if you’d never normally consider a WW2 novel.

3. There’s not as much about felling trees as in the first book! (As some reviewers have pointed out!). But I wrote a fair bit about that in book 1 and I didn’t want to repeat myself. It’s quite a juggling act, when you write a series, not to bore readers who’ve read stuff before but also to put enough in so that new readers know what’s going on!

By the way, although you might enjoy this book a little more if you’ve read the first, it is a ‘stand-alone’, so don’t feel that you must have read ‘The Highland Girls at War’ first.

When I came downstairs this morning, I found a lovely present waiting on the worktop from my OH. All 3 of my book covers made up into jigsaw puzzles! How lovely is that? I’ve removed a bit from the bottom of ‘The Highland Girls on Guard’ so you can see it really is a jigsaw! (When I’ll have time to do them though, is anyone’s guess! When book #4 has been delivered, perhaps).

I often think writing a novel is like doing a huge jigsaw, so it’s rather appropriate that my cover has been turned into one!

The Definition of ‘Saga Fiction’

If you’ve been following the blog for a while, you’ll know that I write ‘saga fiction’ (who knew? I certainly didn’t when I wrote the first one, ‘A Wartime Secret’. It was literary agent Kate Nash who told me I’d written a saga!).

If you’re wondering what ‘saga fiction’ is – and whether you could write it or might like to read it (it’s a huge, if not widely-known or reviewed genre and the readers of saga fiction are loyal and voracious, Oh and they love a series!) – there’s a great article here on The Novelry website, written by editor (and saga author herself, as Ginny Bell), Gillian Holmes, which explains it all really well. In fact, it’s taught me quite a lot!

In a nutshell, saga fiction (the modern version, not Norse mythology!) could be said to have started with Catherine Cookson (I loved her books when I was a teenager! I devoured them!). It’s also often called a sub-genre of historical romance. If you want an example of saga fiction on TV, ‘Call the Midwife’ fits the bill very nicely. And it’s a huge and very popular genre. Many bookshops and supermarkets have whole shelves devoted to saga fiction.

I’m very proud to be part of such a fabulous genre, that gives so much pleasure to so many people and has so many fans and loyal readers!

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Books, novel writing, Novels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to On Publication Day, What is ‘Saga Fiction’?

  1. Congratulations Helen, book number 3…well done. Interesting reading about ‘Saga Fiction’ I’d heard it before, I think a few years ago in relation to something I was writing. Good luck with The Highland Girls On Guard! Much success deserved. x

  2. Eirin Thompson/E.D. Thompson says:

    Happy publication day, Helen! Congratulations on The Highland Girls on Guard – hope it’s a huge success and builds the Helen Yendall brand.

  3. MARGARET GARROD says:

    What a lovely thing for your husband to do. How many pieces? I love a good jigsaw. Just finished a 1000 piece murder mystery one which had no image to follow.

    • Ah, it’s only a little one, Margaret – 300 pieces – and it’s almost too nice to ‘dismantle’! So I might just frame it! I do like doing jigsaws too. Very relaxing, aren’t they?

      • MARGARET GARROD says:

        Mostly! Except for the poor quality ones where a piece fits in more than one place! I once did a puzzle where I had 2 bits of blue sky left to fit, only to find they did not fit in either of the 2 available spaces. 😦

      • Aagh, that must have been very annoying!

  4. philippabowe says:

    Happy happy publication day Helen! So impressive, so deserved…It made me think about the amazing journey you’ve been on since I began to follow your blog (just checked, it was 2012!). And my own…the winning short story I wrote for your random word competition probably set me on the path to flash fiction, where I have happily made a home. It feels good sometimes to look back at where things started, right? Anyway, I’m very happy for your publishing successes over the last few years and hope you’re enjoying them thoroughly!

    I’ll be ordering your new baby for my mum’s birthday – great timing – as she’s a firm fan. Oh and gorgeous gift from your OH!

    P.x

    • Thanks Philippa! So glad to hear that winning one of my random word comps (ah, the days when I had time to run things like that!) set you down the flash fiction path. That’s really nice to know. Hope your mum enjoys the book! x

  5. Helen Lowry says:

    Well done, Helen! I’ve ordered your book, will look forward to reading it!

Leave a comment