It Works For Me!

Hellooo! I hope you’re well and enjoying the slightly better weather that we’ve been having (there’s less rain, anyway!).

I am aching all over because last night I played tennis for the first time in about six months.

Once upon a time, as you may remember if you’ve followed this blog for a while, I used to play a couple of times a week and go on tennis holidays to Spain! Ah, well. Nothing stays the same.

After so long off the court it was surprising I could remember what to do! I did still manage to hit the ball (sometimes) but the running around bit was hard work and now my legs have almost seized up.

‘Highland Girls on Guard’ in The Works

I was in Stratford-on-Avon yesterday, as I still teach my creative writing class for seniors there and I popped into ‘The Works’ on the off-chance that my new book might be there (it’s for sale on the website, so I knew it would be making its way to some of the shops).

Hey presto, it was there, tucked away on one of the lower shelves (but it was next to a book about Harry Styles, so I can’t complain!)

I feel slightly guilty about telling you that it’s at a bargain price in ‘The Works’ – just £2.50 (or only £2 if you buy it as part of the ‘3 books for £6’ deal) – because I know that some of you lovely peeps pre-ordered and /or have bought ‘The Highland Girls on Guard’ at the full price from Amazon.

I actually thought it might not hit ‘The Works’ for a few weeks but there you go. It’s something I have absolutely no control over because selling and price-setting and all of that is strictly down to the publisher!

It won’t be in every branch of ‘The Works’ so if you happen to spot it when you’re out and about, do let me know, as I’d love to know where it’s being stocked.

And if you’re partaking of the ‘3 books for £6’ deal (and why not?), my friend Jane Bettany’s excellent novel, ‘Murder At The Book Festival’ is also part of that deal (in selected stores) and you could do worse than pop that into your shopping basket too!

Stratford Literary Festival

Talking of Stratford-on-Avon and book festivals.. (see what I did there?) the programme for the Stratford Literary Festival (in May) is out and they’ve got some great events lined up.

I’ve booked to see three of my favourite authors: David Nicholls, John Boyne and Jojo Moyes. Exciting!

What’s also exciting (and nerve-wracking!) is that I’ve got a 2-minute slot at the ‘Local Author Showcase’ (part of the Festival) on the evening of 1st May, to talk about my book. (Singular! So I’ve picked the latest one).

All the slots have gone now but it’s free to attend as an audience member so if you’re local to Stratford and fancy it (there’s a bar!), you can book your ticket or find out more about it here.

I know that in the minutes before I have to stand up and deliver my pitch, I will be asking myself why on earth I signed up for the event – and wishing I hadn’t!

But it’s good to get out of your comfort zone every so often, isn’t it? (Was it Eleanor Roosevelt who famously said, ‘Do one thing every day that scares you’?). And as writers, it seems we’re often having to push ourselves forward, as much as it might not be in our nature to do so.

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Books, West Midlands and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It Works For Me!

  1. jbettany2013 says:

    Thanks for recommending Murder at the Book Festival on your blog, Helen. I’ll let you know (and take a pic) if I spot The Highland Girls on Guard in the Derby branch of The Works. Good luck with the author showcase. 😀 xx

  2. Christine Cherry says:

    Oh the joy of galloping through the pages with Seffy and Co again…pacy, poignant and pitch perfect.

    Well done, in every sense of the phrase, Helen.

    Looking forward to the next one already…( Come back Callum !)

    Good luck at the festival, hope to see you there xx

  3. Kate Hogan says:

    Good luck at the festival, Helen. Have ordered your new book at two of our local libraries in different areas – under different councils -. Can’t wait to read it and delighted that you’re keeping on writing. Looking for a film script sometime in the future on your short story with the character ‘Jessie’ in it! Have only just been able to comment on your blog through using the Firefox browser. Old browseer hasn’t been letting me in. Good wihes and wishing you much succes with Highland Girls On Guard. kate Hogan XX

    • Thanks for your kind words, Kate and for ordering my book at two local libraries! Much appreciated and I hope you enjoy it. I can only vaguely remember the short story with a character called Jessie in it! You’ll have to remind me.. (else I need to find my folder with all my short stories in and I have no idea where that is!).

      • KATE HOGAN says:

        II think it was set in America and Jessie was a cleaner. I can’t remember to much just now. It was probably a WW story. Thinks we had commens on the song Jessie at the time – Joshua Kadison was the singer. It was another of your stories that really moved me. Maybe sometime in the future – when you’re not so busy. All good wishes Helen and ‘well Done’ Kate Hogan.

      • Thanks Kate, yes I remember that one now. It was called ‘A Fairytale in New York’ or something similar and it was one of my favourites (yes, in WW). How lovely that you remembered it! I might do something with it one day…! x

Leave a comment