Tickled Pink!

So, I have finished the latest rounds of edits on Book #3 (deadline was Monday 31st) and as a reward, on Tuesday night we went to see the new Barbie film!

And we wore pink. Yes, even my husband – clearly in touch with his feminine side, as he has a few pink shirts – but no pink trousers, I hasten to add!

I was worried that seeing Ryan Gosling as a bleached blonde plastic Ken might have ruined the vision I have for Callum Fraser (the hero in my Highland Girls book #1 who I based – looks-wise, at least – on Ryan Gosling). But NO! I am happy to report that I actually now love Ryan Gosling even more. He is funny! He can sing and dance! (And he’s tipped to get an Oscar for his portrayal of Ken! Amazing).

And did you know, Ken’s real full name is: Kenneth Sean Carson? See, every day’s a school day.

I enjoyed the film but as Marian Keyes (who also enjoyed it) said on Twitter, ‘It’s not for the babbies’ – and it’s true. It really isn’t a children’s film. Have you seen it? What did you think?

RNA Conference

Next weekend I am off to London town to the RNA Conference and I am REALLY looking forward to it.

As I am something of a country bumpkin these days, I am slightly worried about getting from Paddington to Imperial College, where the conference is being held, on the tube (I might end up in Kilburn* or somewhere!?) but we are being given very (very) detailed instructions from the RNA (there’s even a video that shows the outside of the Imperial College and the route we have to take, once we arrive), so I expect it’ll be fine.

‘Get a taxi!’ my OH said (yes, Mr Pink) but no, that’s cheating, right?

None Of This Is True’ – Lisa Jewell

How does she know about places like Kilburn*, I hear you say? Because I’ve been listening to the most brilliant audiobook – Lisa Jewell’s new novel, ‘None Of This Is True. (set in London).

I have to say that I don’t think reading the book would be quite such a gripping experience because the audiobook has been like listening to a radio play: lots of different voices and podcasts being played and Nicola Walker narrates/plays the main character, Alix Summers and does it so well. I love her voice (and the clothes she wore and the character she played in The Split) and her general Nicola Walker-ness. While I was listening to the book, I even started to talk like her, leaving …gaps in ….strange places.

My mum (an audiobook fiend who gets through about one a week) was listening to it at the same time as me (on her own Kindle, obvs) but she was a couple of hours ahead and she could not resist saying things like, “I’ll just say this.. X turns up!”

Which was annoying. And she also, inadvertently, told me the ending!! Impressed? I was not.

Spectator Competition No. 3313: The worm has turned

And now – in case this post has been too frivolous and pink – for something completely different (worms!), here is the latest Spectator competition (free to enter) which might tickle your fancy, closing 16th August (and they give cash prizes of £25 or £30 for a few winners), is as follows:

“You are invited to supply a poem about the worms who have been resurrected by scientists after being frozen in permafrost for 46,000 years. Please email entries of up to 16 lines to lucy@spectator.co.uk by midday on 16 August.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tickled Pink!

  1. Eirin Thompson/E.D. Thompson says:

    Wishing you a great time at the RNA conference. Writing can often be so very solitary – it’s good to have an opportunity to meet up with others similarly engaged. That’s another reason why blogs like this one are so valuable and so valued – a chance to chat with virtual colleagues and hear what everyone’s up to and how everyone is. So thanks, Helen!

  2. Jacqueline Pye says:

    Nice post! Hope you enjoyed the RNA conference. I have entered the worm competition and of course will let you know if the stars align and Lucy likes it.

Leave a comment