Lost My Mojo..

Strettura CastleI seen to have lost my writing mojo! Eek, where has it gone? (perhaps it’s melted).

My evil writing gremlin, Keith*, is having a field day. I’ve got a few stories half-written and I’m playing around with an idea for a travel piece but I just can’t seem to get motivated to finish them. I think perhaps it’s a severe case of “back-from-holiday-started-a-new-job-and-it’s-very-hot-itis.” I can’t concentrate!! So, I’m having a little break – just for a day or two – to see if the mojo comes back.

I promised to tell you something about the second part of my Italian holiday. After the week at Arte Umbria, we were joined by our ‘menfolk’ and we headed east and stayed in a restored twelfth century castle near Spoleto.

Here it is, in all its glory. Our apartment had a conservatory at the front (it’s up there, on the right), overlooking the pool and with fantastic views of the mountains. There was also a super restaurant next door, where we were treated like part of the family (er, apart, obviously, from the fact that we paid for our meals..!)

The only slight ‘downer’ was that the spa was being renovated and the ’emotional shower’ that we’d been promised on the website – and that we were dying to try out – wasn’t operational (in fact, the only emotion we had was ‘disappointment’).

Swimming Pool

We visited Assisi (as in ‘St.Francis’) and Spoleto and an amazing man-made (Roman, of course) 165 metre, 3 tier waterfall outside Terni, the Cascata della Marmore – apparently the highest waterfall in Europe – and which Lord Byron visited as part of his ‘Grand Tour’.

Ah, it was great BUT it’s over now and (are you listening, Keith?!) it’s back to writing work for me very, very soon.

Cheltenham Literary Festival, 4 – 13 October 2013

On a slightly different note, if you fancy getting away from it all and being involved in one of the country’s most prestigious literary festivals, the Cheltenham Literary Festival is looking for volunteers, available for the whole festival and they even pay UK travel expenses, basic living expenses and provide accommodation! I expect they work you pretty hard but it would be a great experience. You might even end up driving Michael Morpurgo or AS Byatt to the station..! Be quick if you want to apply though, because the first round of interviews starts on 5th August.

The Barber Institute (Birmingham) Writer In Residence Workshops

If you live in or around Birmingham (boo hoo, I’m wishing I still did!) you might be interested in these workshops, taking place at the Barber Institute, taking the art as inspiration and lead by their writer-in-residence Jacqui Rowe. They’re good value too – you can book all 5 for just £25 (bargain!) or each workshop costs £6.

*If you’ve got the latest issue of Writing magazine I’ve got an article about ‘writing gremlins in that’. Read all about it on page 41!

Marmore

P.S: By George, I bet you can’t believe it, can you? Yes, I absolutely resisted the urge to mention anything to do with the Royal Baby….

Royal Baby

This entry was posted in West Midlands and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lost My Mojo..

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    Don’t worry, Helen, I had the same problem when I came back from holiday. I’m sure you’ll get back into the swing of it in a day or too.

  2. Christine Steenfeldt says:

    I’m in a bit of a slump at the moment too- must be the weather or that holiday feeling. Your trip sounds wonderful and I’m intrigued by the emotional shower. What a pity you didn’t get to use it, then you could tell us what exactly it is!

  3. Lesley says:

    Savour the lovely memories of your recent holiday and don’t let them slip away too soon – there’s time enough yet to get back to your writing routine. I love the cartoon piccy of Prince George. 😀

  4. Will Caerleon be helping you get your mojo back this year?

  5. You’re not alone! I’ve also run out of steam on a couple of projects, but I think it’s because I need a holiday, not because I’ve just had one. Let’s not worry too much. The muse will be back, I’m sure. 🙂

  6. Linda says:

    But you’ve managed to write an interesting blog post so you’re not completely blocked! I always plan to write a travel article about a place I’ve visited as soon as I get home, but I usually find it’s easier to wait a few weeks when I can be a bit more objective about it. If I start straight away I want to put in everything I’ve experienced and soon get into a muddle.

  7. Keith Havers says:

    I’m not evil. Honest.

  8. Tracy Fells says:

    Normally I’d recommend taking a break from writing, having a holiday for example, but you’ve just had one of those! Don’t force it is the next best thing. I often find if I immerse myself in some other task the urge to write resurfaces, or a least a storyline comes to me.
    I’d love to volunteer for the Cheltenham Lit Festival, sounds terrific opportunity, but this autumn I’m starting an MA and can’t afford to lose a whole week early in the first term. Perhaps next year…

  9. Julia says:

    It’s me again: just wanted to let you know that I have an interview for Cheltenham and have signed up for one of the workshops. Thanks for the the tips.

  10. Julia says:

    I got the gig. I’m going to Cheltenham!

    • Yipppeeee! Well done, you! If I get to any of the events, I’ll have to try to come along and say hello. Let us know what you’re going to be working on – when you know!

      ________________________________

Leave a comment