Reader’s Digest 100-Word Story Winners

We get the keys to our new house today! Eek – exciting. Good job we’re not actually moving until next week though because it is POURING with rain and has been all morning (and for about the last 4 days). Ho hum….

Yesterday I took my Dad to the dentist again and availed myself of all their lovely magazines while I was waiting.

The latest Reader’s Digest has got… the RESULTS of their 100-word short story competition! But you don’t have to rush out and buy a copy – you can look on their website here.

The Adult winner is…er… well, different! See what you think.

Reader’s Digest are printing one ‘commended’ story every day on the website (but as each one is accompanied by a photo, I assume they will contact you to let you know and ask for a picture, first). It’s not clear whether there’s any payment for that – but if they publish your entry in the magazine, they will pay £70, which is definitely worth having.

Reader’s Digest is a jolly little magazine, I’ve decided. It’s quite cheery, with all its jokes and ‘human interest’ articles. Apparently (I read), it’s not good for you to read a newspaper first thing in the morning because it can depress you for the rest of the day but something like RD is quite uplifting.

This sounds like I’m on commission doesn’t it? (Although I did return the ‘YES’ envelope for one of their cash prize draws lately, so it’s best to stay in their good books…!)

PS: There’s still time to put a quick comment on my Complementary World Book Night post here. I’ll be drawing the winner at 6pm tonight!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Magazines, Moving House, Short Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Reader’s Digest 100-Word Story Winners

  1. cathaber1 says:

    I thought the under-11s winner was the best of the three! I picked up on the “story a day” bit on Facebook yesterday so I’ve sent a query to the RD asking whether they’ve already contacted all those concerned.

  2. Tracy Fells says:

    I was wondering when the results for the Reader’s Digest 100-word comp came out so thanks for this. Will have to try again next year!

  3. I like the adult winner – it’s very subtle. I assumed it was an ex-boyfriend stalking her by going through the rubbish.
    Good Luck with the house move!

  4. sue cunningham says:

    thanks, cathaber1, my 9yr old son won the 11 and under category and we are so proud of him. I entered the adult category and got nowhere however . . . !
    Helen, I love your blog – very informative. Well done on your recent WF success – I also loved your previously placed story about the Sheep Baby.

  5. Keith Havers says:

    I enjoyed the adult winner too.

  6. Good luck with the move 🙂

    Xx

  7. Maggie May says:

    It goes to show that the winning entry doesn’t have to be too ‘clever’. A good story told well in 100 words. We were given enough information to know what it was all about.

    Hope it’s not raining on moving day. Good luck!

  8. Farida says:

    Reader’s Digest contest (100 word story)
    Please list down the winners of this contest in this website. Thank you.
    Farida

Leave a Reply

