World Book Day .. and other stuff

WBD logoAs you probably know, it’s World Book Day today.

Looking at the website, it’s aimed mostly at children (they’re encouraged to dress up as their favourite children’s book character! How come I never did that?!)

BUT that doesn’t mean there’s nothing on there for us oldies!

As I write this I’m listening to the children’s author videos, under ‘Storycraft‘. Although they’re aimed at children, I’m actually learning quite a lot, about how to build suspense and mystery, how to do research and how to write funny stories. And it’s rather nice to have all it expressed ‘simply’, for once! (Yes, I am a simple soul).

There’s an instruction at the end of Jeremy Strong’s piece, for example, to ‘Go Away And Write!’ Yes, exactly.

Mslexia Short Story Competition

But, at the other end of the spectrum, you might, like me, be thinking about your entry for the Mslexia short story competition (closing date 18th March 2013. Open to women only, from anywhere in the world. Sorry guys. I don’t make the rules…!).

It’s £10 to enter, which is quite a hefty entry fee but the prizes are fabulous and it’s a very prestigious competition to win – or even be shortlisted in – so worth a go, I think.

Anyway, what I’m getting round to telling you is, that, on the Mslexia website there are some rather helpful ‘workshops’, which might be of interest regardless of whether you ‘qualify’ for, or want to enter, the competition.

One’s on Beginnings

the next is on Character

and the third is on Place

And in other news.. we are totally confused about what puppy to buy (it was definitely going to be a Labrador but we’ve been put off because three people have told us they EAT your house), so we’re going to Crufts tomorrow to try to solve our crisis. Soooo excited! Woof, woof!

This entry was posted in Competitions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to World Book Day .. and other stuff

  1. Have fun at Crufts tomorrow!

  2. Downith says:

    The children are lobbying for a dog. My criteria are no shedding, no yapping, no smells. Is there a breed for that? Happy researching.

    P.S. Is there a way to contact you off blog? I can’t seem to find an email address.

  3. Wendy Clarke says:

    The Mslexia workshops sound interesting, Helen – will take a look. By the way, we are magazine pals in WWFS – I enjoyed your story. P.S. You can have my very bad dog Bonnie if you like (only joking!) Enjoy crufts.

    • Ooh, that’s spooky – we like the name Bonnie for a dog! If we get a girl, that’s probably what we’re going to call her…! Yes, I saw that we were both in WWFS. Not had chance to read it yet but hopefully over the weekend..!

      ________________________________

  4. Philippa says:

    Hi Helen, I didn’t have a clue about World Book Day, shamefully, so thanks for pointing it out. I see the site has a kids’ story competition, I’m going to see if my 12-yr-old wants to have a go. I am very aware of the Myslexia deadline looming, and hoping to get the story that’s bubbling up in my head down on paper in time. Enjoy dog shopping!

  5. Helen Barboour says:

    My dream is to move to a house, where I can have a border terrier (they don’t ‘shed’, Downith), whom I’d call Bonnie! Seems to be a popular name, so much confusion is likely to ensue from owners calling for their dogs… Let us know how you get on, Helen.

    • Ah, Helen, we saw lots of border terriers! I had mistakenly thought (for years!) that they were ‘Norfolk terriers’ but have realised the error of my ways. Very very cute! I can see why you like them!

    • Thanks for your good wishes re. Crufts (watching it on the tele’ now!). We had a great day. I was imagining lots of barking and smelliness but actually it was all very civilised and the dogs were all well under control! And it did help us make up our minds, finally. Lots of breeds are just too big, or too small or too hairy! So it looks like it’s going to be either a working springer spaniel or… regrettably this looks like we’re copying Prince William and Kate, because they have one … a black working cocker spaniel!

  6. Tracy Fells says:

    Forget the writing competitions Helen we just want to hear about the puppy! Enjoy Crufts and if you do get a puppy soon then please post pics.
    I have a story written for Mslexia and must get it off next week. Have been trying to crack them for sometime, so fingers crossed. Nice to see you in Writing Mag too!

Leave a Reply

