Creative Writing Classes – Solihull

Have you always wanted to write short stories or a novel? Do you have a passion for poetry? Would you like to pen articles for possible publication or record your family history?

If the answer to any of the above is ‘yes’ or ‘maybe’ and you live in or around Solihull in the West Midlands, you might be interested to know that I’ll be teaching 2 Creative Writing classes for Solihull College from January 2011.

Update: The classes are currently (Jan 26th) not running, due to lack of numbers, but we are hoping to ‘restart’ at least one of them from mid February, so if you’re interested, there’s still plenty of time to enrol!

My ‘regular’ class will run again on Monday evenings in Knowle (7pm – 9pm). This is essentially a continuation of the 10 week course that ran from September – December 2010 but ‘newbies’and beginners are welcome too. It will be a 10 week course from January up to Easter.

Also, on Wednesday evenings I’ll be teaching a new course in Smith’s Wood, near to Chelmsley Wood, also from 7pm – 9pm. This one is really aimed at ‘beginners’ but if you’ve got some experience of writing, you would also be welcome.

If you’ve been to one of my classes before, the new class is probably not for you, as I’ll be replicating courses that I’ve run in Knowle – but if you’re unsure, drop me a line and we can have a chat about it.

My classes are – I hope – friendly and relaxed, with lots of opportunity to write and read work aloud, if you wish to. The emphasis is on encouragement, support and of course, putting pen to paper.

If you have any questions, drop me a line via the blog or for more information on enrolment and cost, phone Solihull College on: 0121 788 0319 (from January 4th) or email: community@solihull.ac.uk

This entry was posted in Ideas, West Midlands. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Creative Writing Classes – Solihull

  1. purplebutt8rfly says:

    Hi I would love to join the Solihull classes, as they’re closer to home. If not, any spare places in Knowle? Monica

    • Monica
      Nice to hear from you! Why don’t you give Solihull college a ring and let them know that you’re interested in joining? They are trying to run one class after half term (either at Woodlands in Smith’s Wood or Arden) but it depends on whether they can get 10 people to enrol.

  2. Mariam Moledina says:

    Hi Helen

    Remember me from the first (and last) class at Solihull last month? I was gutted that they were cancelled.
    Are they really starting again? I hope they are..
    Please do keep me updated.

    Mariam

    • Mariam
      Yes, of course I remember you! Your ‘story of my name’ was a complicated one! Fingers crossed that the Arden class will start up again after half term. It depends on whether we get enough people (we need at least 10) and I don’t know myself yet what the numbers are looking like. As soon as I know more, I’ll let you know!
      Helen

  3. Mariam Moledina says:

    Excellent – fingers crossed.

    You have my email addess right? Just drop me an email when you know.
    Happy spring 🙂 (Daffodils are sprouting!)

  4. Cathy says:

    Have just come across this writing course and hope it will start again after Easter.

    • Cathy
      Sorry no, the class isn’t running again after Easter – mainly because I want a break (to do some of my own writing!) and I know from past experience that numbers start to dwindle in the summer term, as people take holidays and want to spend the light (warm?) evenings outside. So what starts out as a class of say 12, often drops down to just six or seven, which isn’t great for ‘group dynamics’. However, all being well, Solihull college will start the creative writing class(es) again in September and I may be teaching one or both of them, so keep your eye on the blog or on the college website!

  5. Linda beresford says:

    Is there a creative writing course in knowle currently available. 2017.

    • Hi Linda
      I don’t teach for Solihull college any longer so I can’t tell you, I’m afraid. You’ll need to speak to the college directly and ask them about their part-time adult ed courses. Good luck!
      Helen

Leave a Reply

