Lady Of The Manor!

Last night we stayed at the rather exclusive Lords of the Manor hotel in Upper Slaughter in the Cotswolds.

And we spent a very nice day today down the road in Bourton-on-the-Water. So, what’s all this got to do with anything? Well, the night in the hotel, which was worth about £200, including breakfast, was my ‘star letter’ prize from the Mail on Sunday last year. You could choose one night in any of the ‘Small Hotels Of The World’ properties.

Not bad for a couple of paragraphs. So, I’m just reminding you (and myself!) not to neglect writing letters to magazines and newspapers. (Do a bit or research – there are lots of tips on my Magazine Madness posts. Don’t, for example, bother with the ones that don’t give prizes or cash!) The Mail on Sunday’s current prize for their weekly star letter, is 2 nights in a Jury’s Inn hotel. Which, let’s face it, you could turn into a nice little mini break….

And, talking of competitions, the Writers Bureau is offering a short story and novel-writing course in their latest free-to-enter competition. You’ve got until 30th September to write and submit the (max 300 word) blurb for an imaginary novel, set in London 1666, at the time of the Great Fire. There are more details on how to enter here.

Blog-reader Cathy won the last Writer’s Bureau competition – she left me a comment today to tell me! So, it can be done! What are you waiting for…?!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Cotswolds, Magazine Madness, Magazines, Newspapers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lady Of The Manor!

  1. What a great prize! Think it’s time I got writing more letters as I haven’t done any for a while.

  2. Maggie May says:

    We take the Mail on Sunday every week, and I never think about entering. I’m going to dig it out now!

  3. What a great prize, off to write more letters. Thanks.

  4. Cathy says:

    Hi – I’m Cathy who won the last Writer’s Bureau competition and I’d like to thank Helen again, for being so generous in her sharing of these competitions and I’m glad she enjoyed her own win with hopefully many more to come. Writer’s Bureau have been in contact and are going to send me more details of the Non-Fiction Writing Course I’ve won – really excited and would definitely encourage all blog followers to have a go at this months! Good luck.

  5. Sarah Head says:

    Glad you enjoyed your stay. The Lords of the Manor provided me with my first ever paid work – three weeks cleaning and washing up in the kitchens which was part of my social policy degree. The sous chef liked my recipe for rhubarb lattice tart and served it to the guests. I could choose something from the lunch menu before I walked the mile home up the steep hill towards Lower Swell and discovered the succulent taste of veal – never eaten it since but I remember how good it was. The Lord of the Manor, Francis Witts still lives five minutes from his great grandfather’s rectory which is now the hotel. I’m still around monthly running workshops from my parent’s farm.

Leave a Reply

