‘Woman’s Weekly Writing Workshop’: The Consolation Prize

womans-weekly-live-logo-300x289For those of us not fortunate enough to make it to the ‘Woman’s Weekly Fiction Writing Workshop’ last week (they’re running a few but apparently they’re all booked up now), several fellow bloggers who did attend have kindly ‘reported back’, so read all about it, thanks to:

Sheila Cornelius, Patsy Collins, The Writing Allsorts Blog and that intrepid duo, Tracy Fells and Wendy Clarke, whose exploits in London (what with the near-assassination and all that), sound like an urban ‘Thelma & Louise’ type adventure (minus Brad Pitt but with lots of laughs to compensate). Girls, what are you waiting for? Get writing!

Brad Pitt in 'Thelma & Louise'

Brad Pitt in ‘Thelma & Louise’

Wendy clearly learned lots from the day, because her piece is actually serialised – Part 1 is here and Part 2 here.

And Tracy, (who blogs as The Literary Pig), describes the day here – and provides a picture of the rucksack which Wendy found so funny. (I’m with you, Tracy – you can’t beat a good rucksack for carting all your stuff around, on a day out. I had one in Milan. Much more practical than a handbag!!)

Aww, they were all there and I wasn’t! Am feeling all ‘left out’ now although, to be honest, I had a horrible migraine on Friday, so it was probably best I hadn’t booked. I’d have been the miserable-looking one, scowling in the corner.

P.S: Was hoping to be able to end this by saying, “Ooh, spooky! I’ve just had a quick look at my emails and there’s an ACCEPTANCE from Woman’s Weekly!” But sadly, life’s not like fiction – or a blog post, is it? There is no such email in my inbox. 😦

This entry was posted in Blogging, Short Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘Woman’s Weekly Writing Workshop’: The Consolation Prize

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    That rucksack – there was barely room in the car for me! Sorry you couldn’t make it on Friday but at least your life was not in danger. Thanks for linking. Cheers -Thelma… I mean Wendy.

  2. Tracy Fells says:

    Blimey I must have missed Brad on Friday, but to be honest the day was filled with ladies not writing hunks. Now I need to work out: am I Thelma or Louise?
    Hope you are feeling better this week Helen.Thx for the mention 🙂

  3. Amanda says:

    I keep hoping for one of those acceptance emails too, Helen! Fingers crossed for both of us! 🙂

  4. I’m really enjoying reading all about it 🙂

    Xx

Leave a Reply

